The Duke

Roger Michell, UK, 2020o

s
vBack

The first successful burglary in the history of London's National Gallery was committed in 1961 by a retired cab driver from the northern English working class. He climbed through a toilet window and stole a Goya portrait of the Duke of Wellington. His motive: the government should exempt pensioners and the destitute from paying television license fees. Roger Mitchell's comedy tells the story of the ludicrous blackmail.

Kempton Bunton lives in precarious circumstances and is a good-natured chap in his late fifties with a (rigid) sense of social justice. This sense is so strong that it regularly drives his wife up the wall and occasionally lands him in jail. His most important hobbyhorse is a British no-billag campaign: Bunton thinks it is unfair that pensioners and poor people have to pay fees to the state-run BBC for TV reception. When he also learns in the early 1960s that the government is using taxpayers' money to buy a painting by Goya depicting the Duke of Wellington, his patience finally snaps and events come thick and fast. As in many of the best British comedies, the hilarious is mixed with class warfare, and the acting duo of Jim Broadbent and Helen Mirren are simply a delight as the warmly bickering old couple. And just as in the case of The Lost King, it is hard to believe that almost everything here is based on fact: In 1961, the story filled the press columns for weeks and there is even an allusion to it in the Bond film Dr. No.

Till Brockmann

Porté par une belle énergie, des dialogues savoureux d’humour anglais (la scène du procès, hilarante, a des allures de one man show) de super acteurs, ce film, le dernier de Roger Michell, se savoure comme un bon muffin à l’heure du thé.

La Rédaction

Galleryo

The Hollywood Reporter, 9/3/2020
All rights reserved The Hollywood Reporter. Provided by The Hollywood Reporter Archiv
The Guardian, 9/3/2020
All rights reserved The Guardian. Provided by The Guardian Archiv
SRF, 9/8/2012
All rights reserved SRF. Provided by SRF Archiv
outnow.ch, 9/7/2020
All rights reserved outnow.ch. Provided by outnow.ch Archiv
20minutes, 5/10/2022
All rights reserved 20minutes. Provided by 20minutes Archiv
Rolling Stone, 5/9/2022
All rights reserved Rolling Stone. Provided by Rolling Stone Archiv
Interview with Helen Mirren
/ Today
en / 4/4/2022 / 08‘10‘‘

Q&A with Jim Broadbent
/ BFI
en / 3/7/2022 / 24‘04‘‘

Interview mit Jim Broadbent und Roger Michell
/ SRF
de / 5/5/2022 / 01‘59‘‘

Movie Datao

Genre
Comedy, Drama
Running time
96 Min.
Original language
English
Ratings
cccccccccc
ØYour rating6.7/10
IMDB user:
6.9 (12973)
cinefile-user:
6.0 (10)
Critics:
< 3 votes

Cast & Crewo

Jim BroadbentKempton Bunton
Helen MirrenDorothy Bunton
Matthew GoodeJeremy Hutchinson QC
MORE>

Bonuso

iVideo
Interview with Helen Mirren
Today, en , 08‘10‘‘
s
Q&A with Jim Broadbent
BFI, en , 24‘04‘‘
s
Interview mit Jim Broadbent und Roger Michell
SRF, de , 01‘59‘‘
s
gText
Review The Hollywood Reporter
Deborah Young
s
Review The Guardian
Xan Brooks
s
Review SRF
Selim Petersen
s
Review outnow.ch
Gianluca Izzo
s
Review 20minutes
Caroline Vié
s
Review Rolling Stone
Xavier Bonnet
s
We use cookies. By continuing to surf on cinefile.ch you agree to our cookie policy. For details see our privacy policy.

The Duke

Roger Michell, GB, 2020o

s
vretour

Le premier cambriolage réussi de l'histoire de la National Gallery de Londres a été perpétré en 1961 par un chauffeur de taxi à la retraite issu de la classe ouvrière du nord de l'Angleterre. Il a escaladé la fenêtre des toilettes et a volé un portrait du duc de Wellington par Goya. Son motif : le gouvernement devrait exempter les retraités et les personnes sans ressources de la redevance télévisuelle. La comédie de Roger Mitchell retrace l'histoire de ce chantage absurde.

Kempton Bunton vit dans des conditions précaires. Il est un homme bienveillant à la fin de la cinquantaine avec un sens rigide de la justice sociale. Ce sens est si grand qu'il exaspère régulièrement sa femme et se met lui-même en prison de temps en temps. Son cheval de bataille le plus important est la lutte britannique "No Billag" : Bunton trouve injuste que les retraités et les pauvres doivent payer la redevance à la BBC pour la réception de la télévision. Lorsqu'il apprend, au début des années 60, que le gouvernement achète un tableau de Goya représentant le Duke de Wellington avec l'argent des contribuables, il perd définitivement patience et les événements se précipitent. Comme dans toute bonne comédie britannique, l'hilarité se mêle à la lutte des classes et le tandem d'acteurs Jim Broadbent et Helen Mirren est tout simplement un régal dans le rôle d'un vieux couple cordialement chamailleur. Et tout comme dans le cas de The Lost King, on a du mal à croire que presque tout est basé sur des faits réels : en 1961, l'histoire a rempli les colonnes de la presse pendant des semaines et même le film de Bond Dr No y fait allusion.

Till Brockmann

Porté par une belle énergie, des dialogues savoureux d’humour anglais (la scène du procès, hilarante, a des allures de one man show) de super acteurs, ce film, le dernier de Roger Michell, se savoure comme un bon muffin à l’heure du thé.

La Rédaction

Recommandationso

20minutes, 10/05/2022
© Tous droits réservés 20minutes. Fourni par 20minutes Archiv
Rolling Stone, 09/05/2022
© Tous droits réservés Rolling Stone. Fourni par Rolling Stone Archiv
The Hollywood Reporter, 03/09/2020
© Tous droits réservés The Hollywood Reporter. Fourni par The Hollywood Reporter Archiv
The Guardian, 03/09/2020
© Tous droits réservés The Guardian. Fourni par The Guardian Archiv
SRF, 08/09/2012
© Tous droits réservés SRF. Fourni par SRF Archiv
outnow.ch, 07/09/2020
© Tous droits réservés outnow.ch. Fourni par outnow.ch Archiv
Interview with Helen Mirren
/ Today
en / 04/04/2022 / 08‘10‘‘

Q&A with Jim Broadbent
/ BFI
en / 07/03/2022 / 24‘04‘‘

Interview mit Jim Broadbent und Roger Michell
/ SRF
de / 05/05/2022 / 01‘59‘‘

Données du filmo

Genre
Comédie, Drame
Durée
96 Min.
Langue originale
Anglais
Ratings
cccccccccc
ØVotre évaluation6,7/10
IMDB:
6,9 (13014)
Cinefile-User:
6,2 (12)
Critiques :
< 3 votes q

Casting & Equipe techniqueo

Jim BroadbentKempton Bunton
Helen MirrenDorothy Bunton
Matthew GoodeJeremy Hutchinson QC
PLUS>

Bonuso

iVidéo
Interview with Helen Mirren
Today, en , 08‘10‘‘
s
Q&A with Jim Broadbent
BFI, en , 24‘04‘‘
s
Interview mit Jim Broadbent und Roger Michell
SRF, de , 01‘59‘‘
s
gPresse écrite
Critique 20minutes
Caroline Vié
s
Critique Rolling Stone
Xavier Bonnet
s
Critique The Hollywood Reporter
Deborah Young
s
Critique The Guardian
Xan Brooks
s
Critique SRF
Selim Petersen
s
Critique outnow.ch
Gianluca Izzo
s
Nous utilisons des cookies. En naviguant sur cinefile.ch, vous acceptez notre politique d'utilisation des cookies. Pour plus de détails, voir notre déclaration de protection des données